Higher Education

Universities in the Eastern Cape

Walter Sisulu University

Walter Sisulu University (WSU) was established on 1 July, 2005. The university was named in honour of an icon of the South African liberation struggle, the late Walter Max Ulyate Sisulu.

As one of six comprehensive universities in South Africa, WSU has positioned itself as a developmental university focusing on urban renewal and rural development. It may be characterised as scientific, technological, innovative and responsive to local community needs, the requirements of commerce and industry and the socio-economic niche areas of national government.

The University's core business is teaching, research and community engagement. It offers over 175 qualifications with the following priority programme focus areas:
  • Science, engineering and technology
  • Communication, business and management
  • Education
  • Accounting and management sciences
  • Health sciences
  • Natural sciences
  • Humanities, social sciences and law.

WSU is uniquely positioned to play a powerful role in the national government's new focus on rural development in particular. Over 24,000 students and about 2,500 staff live and work across four campuses with 13 delivery sites in Mthatha, Butterworth, Buffalo City (East London) and Queenstown.

Contact WSUMthatha Campus
Contact Details:
Tel: +27 (0)47 502 2844
Fax: +27 (0)47 502 2211


University of Fort Hare

The University of Fort Hare is a public university in Alice, South Africa. The South African Native College, later the University of Fort Hare, was founded in 1916 and has been a key institution in higher education for black Africans until today. Following a decision by the Ministry of Education, the university has, since January 2004, been incorporating and integrating a new campus in the city of East London, formerly of Rhodes University, into UFH. This significant development in a new larger operating environment presents significant challenges as well as strategic opportunities for the calculated expansion of UFH into new markets, enabling it to play a stimulating and catalytic role in the development of the Buffalo City region.

The mission of the University is to provide high quality education of international standards contributing to the advancement of knowledge that is socially and ethically relevant, and applying that knowledge to the scientific, technological and socio-economic development of our nation and the wider world.

UFH boast 38 departments across five faculties:
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law (Nelson R. Mandela School of Law)
  • Faculty of Management & Commerce
  • Faculty of Science & Agriculture
  • Faculty of Social Sciences & Humanities
Contact UFHAlice Campus
Contact Details:
Tel: +27 (0)40 602 2011
Fax: +27 (0)40 653 1554


Nelson Mandela University

Nelson Mandela University (NMU) is a South African tertiary education institution with its main administration in the coastal city of Port Elizabeth. NMU was founded through a merger of three institutions in January 2005, but its history dates back to 1882, with the foundation of the Port Elizabeth Art School. The University draws international students from all over the world and many African countries.

NMU is a comprehensive university offering professional and vocational training. The University has six campuses - five in Port Elizabeth and one in George. The main campus is the South Campus. Students at NMU can study towards diplomas and degrees up to and including doctoral level qualifications. A number of courses include workplace experience as part of the curriculum.

NMU boasts 24 departments across seven faculties:
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty if Business and Economic Science
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Science
Contact NMU
Contact Details:
Tel: +27 (0)41 504 1111
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 2574 / 2731
Email: info@mandela.ac.za


Rhodes University

Located in Grahamstown in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa, Rhodes is a small university which enjoys the distinction of having among the best undergraduate pass and graduation rates in South Africa, outstanding postgraduate success rates, and the best research output per academic staff member. This is testimony to the quality of students that Rhodes attracts and of academic provision, and to the commitment of Rhodes staff to student development and success.

Out of 7 000 students, 26% are postgraduates and 20% are international students from 40 countries around the world, making Rhodes a dynamic and cosmopolitan knowledge institution. With the most favourable academic staff to student ratio among South African universities, Rhodes students are guaranteed easy access to academics and close supervision.

Students are able to undertake an extensive range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees across 44 academic departments in the faculties of Humanities, Science, Commerce, Pharmacy, Law and Education.

Contact Rhodes University
Contact Details:
Tel: +27 (0)46 603 8111
Fax: +27 (0)46 603 7350
Email: registrar@ru.ac.za